Career Development Awards

Future Leaders Advancing Research in Endocrinology (FLARE)

November 18, 2022

The Future Leaders Advancing Research in Endocrinology (FLARE) program provides structured leadership development and in-depth, hands-on training in topics ranging from grantsmanship to lab management. Basic science, clinical research trainees, and junior faculty from underrepresented minority communities who have demonstrated achievement in endocrine research are all invited to apply to FLARE. This program is sponsored by a grant from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases.


Endocrine Society Policy and Procedures for Financial Conflicts of Interest in Sponsored Research  

Shooting Stars: How the FLARE Program is Changing the Face of Endocrinology

The FLARE Program Components

Workshop: All selected participants will attended the workshop, that teaches the “business of research” and the skills needed to establish themselves as independent researchers. Participants can choose to continue down the Internship Path or the Mentorship Path. The 2023 FLARE workshop will be held March 16-18, 2023 in Los Angeles, CA.

  • Internship Path: Participants can serve on an Endocrine Society committee and have the opportunity to mentor students at other Society events. 
  • Mentorship Path: Participants connect to accomplished biomedical and clinical scientists as mentors and visit their mentor in-person.

ENDO Travel Award: Participants will have the opportunity to apply for a travel award to attend ENDO, the Society's Annual Meeting and Expo. To qualify for this award, you must submit an abstract through the ENDO submission site.

FLARE members with the appropriate background in basic or translational science will be given the opportunity to become part of the Endocrinology Early Career Reviewer program and work with the Associate Editors to learn reviewing skills.

About the Workshop

During the FLARE Program workshop, speakers share professional wisdom and provide guidance. Participants get a chance to network and hone skills such as:

  • Individual career development
  • Finding funding for research
  • How to market yourself to employers
  • Managing your lab and time
  • Dealing with interpersonal conflict
  • Negotiating for your needs

After the workshop, participants continue their career development through either the Internship Path or the Mentorship Path. 

Eligibility and Application

Eligible FLARE Program applicants are:

  • Preference is given to members of the Endocrine Society but not required to attend the workshop. To move forward in other components of the program, membership is required. Join Now.
  • Currently enrolled in a US graduate program, post-doctoral fellowship, an endocrine clinical fellowship, or junior faculty (within 1-3 years of obtaining faculty position).
  • Of an ethnic minority group underrepresented in the biomedical sciences (African American, Hispanic American, American Indian or Native American, Alaska Native, and Natives of the US Pacific Islands)
  • US citizen or US permanent resident

Mentorship Path applicants are encouraged to begin searching for a mentor before the application period begins. Please see the Eligibility & Application page for a full list of requirements.

For More Information

To learn more about the FLARE Program, contact us at 202-971-3657 or email [email protected].

FLARE Recipients

Recipient  Institution
Diana Varghese  
Sade Williams Clayton Washington University School of Medical
Bobak Moazzami Emory University School of Medical
Heather Beasley Vanderbilt University
Elizabeth Sanchez Rangel   Yale University
Greisha Ortiz Hernandez  City of Hope National Medical Center
Jazma Tapia  City of Hope National Medical Center
Carolina Gonzalez Lopez Yale University
Kimia Saleh Anaraki  National Institutes of Health
Mopelola Adeyemo  University of California, Los Angeles
Tiffany Fleet  University Pennsylvania Hospital 
Sylvia Robinson  Rush University Medical Center
Samuel Cortez  St. Louis Children's Hospital
Carlos Díaz-Balzac  University of Rochester Medical Center 

Recipient  Institution
Colwyn A. Headley, PhD Stanford University 
Damonie Salmon Eastern Virginia Medical College 
Zer Vue, PhD Vanderbilt University 
Logan Alexander Northcutt, BS Vanderbilt University 
Darian Thomas Carroll, BS Vanderbilt University 
Claudia Ramirez, MD Baylor College of Medicine 
Steven Elliott Hobbs, MS University of Illinois
Maria Victoria Salguero Bermonth, MD, MSc University of Chicago
Regine Boutin, MD Massachusetts General Hospital
Yetunde Bernice Omotosho, MD National Institute on Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases
Natasha Ivelisse Roman Ortiz, BS University of Minnesota
Hannah Heath University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 
Dominique Stephens, PhD Fisk and Vanderbilt University 
Zohyra E. Zabala, MD Emory University
Jade E. Stanley, BS Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Briana Noel Cortez, BS University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine



Last Updated:

Become a Member

Join our endocrine community and become a member! Only members receive access to a variety of member benefits that will enhance your career. If your membership has lapsed, rejoin today so that you can continue to receive your membership benefits.

Join our endocrine community and become a member! Only members receive access to a variety of member benefits that will enhance your career. If your membership has lapsed, rejoin today so that you can continue to receive your membership benefits.

Back to top

Who We Are

For 100 years, the Endocrine Society has been at the forefront of hormone science and public health. Read about our history and how we continue to serve the endocrine community.